Philatelic Association of NSW inc.

home of philately

Philas Honours List

There are currently three levels of Award, these being

Philas Medal
The Philas Medal, for meritorious service to philately within NSW This award consists of a silver medallion bearing on the obverse the Association’s adopted design, with the recipient’s name and the year of the Award on the reverse.
1975 Col F V Thompson 1996 Mr C McColough
1976 Mr E J Garrard 1997 Mr T W Ilbery
1977 Mr N J Sheppard,Mr W C Hansen 1998 Mrs B Hancock
1978 Mr C Ashworth-Spreat, Mrs A D Garrard 1999
1979 2000 Mr W H (Bill) Driver
1980 Mr J Leek, Mrs P M C Rock 2001 Mr A McRae
1981 Mrs N Wilson 2002 Mr W Mair, Mr J C (Col) Ryan
1982 Mr R Stern 2003 -
1983 2004 Mr L Savins
1984 Mr D Cox, Mr N C Hopson 2005
1985 Mr R A Browne 2006 Mrs M Simkus, Mr K Simkus
1986 Mr D Benson 2007 Mr J Batson
1987 Mr D Collyer, Mrs V Ross 2008 Mr P Storm
1988 Mr S Griffith 2009 Mr E Wolf
1989 Mr H Fletcher, Mr R C Peck 2010  
1990 Mr K Emery 2011 Mr Peter Brigden
1991 Mr K Collyer, Mr A Marks 2012 -
1992 Mr J White 2013 -
1993 Mr J Fordham    
1994 Mr B Doherty    
1995 Mr A Pailthorpe    
The Philas Certificate of Merit
The Philas Certificate of Merit, for meritorious service to philately at State Level
1980 Mrs N Wilson, Mr R C Peck 2000 -
1981 Mr N C Hopson 2001 Mr P Storm, Mr P Brigden, Mrs M & Mr R Chalmers,Mr S Morris, Mrs W & Mr P Morehouse, Miss M McNeill, Mrs K & Mr K Dwyer
1982 Mr J Lean 2002 Mr E Wolf
1983 Mr J C (Col) Ryan, Mr K Emery 2003 -
1984  Mr W Banks, Mr D Collyer 2004  -
1985 2005 Mr J Newman, Mr R Flowers, Mr R Stewart
1986 2006 Mr D Rutherford, Mr G Shearer, Mr D Catterall
1987 Mr B Williams, Mr R Kennedy, Mrs C Georgopoulos 2007 Mr P Storm, Mr S Davidson
1988  2008  Mrs J Leigh, Mrs E (Liz) Nakhla
1989 Mrs B Hancock, Mrs H Ellis 2009  Mr R Hardy, Mr C Clymo
1990 Mr E James 2010  
1991 - 2011 Mr Geoffery Lewis
1992 Mrs M Dodd, Mr C McColough 2012 Ms Ann Garrick
1993 - 2013  
1994 Mr A Pailthorpe    
1995  -    
1996 Mr L Hodson, Mr W Driver    
1997 -    
1998 Mrs M & Mr K Simkus    
1999 -    
The Stan Griffith Award
The Stan Griffith Award Certificate of Merit for meritorious service to philately at Club Level
2004 Mr N Dallinger, Mr B Roberts 2010  
2005 Mr J Cunningham 2011 Mr Michael Newman
2006 Mrs H Dunn, Mr R Osborne 2012 -
2007 Mr G Morrison, Mr G Scott 2013 Mr Ted Sherwood and Mr Robert Cox
2008 Mr A (Fred) Grech, Mr M Nicolson    
2009 Mr H Ferguson, Mr P Aitken    

By-Laws Covering Awards for Meritorious Service to Philately within New South Wales