St George Philatelic Society

About Us

The St. George Philatelic Society boasts a rich and captivating history in stamp collecting, filled with interesting and vibrant individuals. As the first suburban stamp club in Australia, it was formed in 1895 and officially established in 1937. The society has a wealth of knowledge stored in its extensive library, which includes articles from the St. George Philatelist magazines that span over 55 years.

The St. George Philatelic Society, with its commitment to pleasing and assisting fellow collectors, meets at the Rockdale Hall, 36 George Street, Rockdale. The club's welcoming atmosphere invites enthusiasts and newcomers alike to explore and learn. Attendees can expect engaging activities, including an auction held each night, and access to Circuit Books available to members.

If you're curious to learn more, we encourage you to come along and experience the rich history and and friendly environment firsthand.

Meeting Place

Members Homes, Contact Geoff Maxwell

Meeting Time

Meetings are held on the first Monday of each month, excluding January, from 8:00 pm to 10:00 pm.


From a Baby Dragon to a Mighty St. George

The Beginnings

Established, Wednesday, 11th August, 1937 at the Kogarah School of Arts. With Mr. William Stewart, President, and Mr. E. Bagshaw, Hon. Secretary. (Mr Bill Stewart was a Bexley Stamp Dealer from 1936, moving to the City in 1938.)

Early Years

After the Second World War, the first “Georgepex” was held in 1958, the Society’s 21st Anniversary. Further Exhibitions were held in 1962 (25th Anniversary), 1967 (30th), 1972 (35th), 1987 (Jubilee Anniversary), and 2007 (70th Anniversary).

A History Book outlining the progress of the Society was produced. It was reported in 1974 that the Society had 120 members and was the fourth largest, out of 100 clubs in Australia.

The Society produced a Philatelic Magazine, in 1954 called “Philatales” which later became “The St. George Philatelist” from 1974. The first use of the old Society emblem, with scroll, was seen on the cover and the Syllabus in 1948. The Society also issues an Appreciation Certificate and has a Membership Badge that was produced in 1965.

In all, to date, the Society has had 10 Presidents and 15 Secretaries. The Syllabus for the meetings over the years has been many and varied with interesting displays.


Exchange or circuit books
Wheelchair access

Membership Fees

Annual Fees:
Adults: $7.00
Juniors: (under 18 yrs) - free
Fees are due in February

Contact Information

Geoff Maxwell

Phone 0422 294 546